33-year-old Amy Beck is a middle school teacher at David Starr Jordan Middle School in Burbank. But she isn't just your typical teacher. She was just sentenced to two years in state prison for having sex with her 14-year-old student over the course of seven months. In addition to the prison time, Beck will have to register as a sex offender.
Under California Penal Code Section 290, upon release from local jail, state prison, or completion of any alternative sentence, convicted sex offenders are required to register within five working days of moving into any law enforcements agency's jurisdiction and when they change their name or residence address or location. In addition, every sex offender is required to register annually within five working days of his or her birthday. Sex offenders who have no residence address are considered "transient" and are required to update their registration once every 60 days. Sex offenders who have been convicted of a felony and fail to register can be charged with a new felony for failing to register.
Beck had turned herself in at the Burbank Police Department as she was overridden with guilt. She was subsequently booked on suspicion of lewd and lascivious acts (California Penal Code Section 288(a)).
Criminal Law Updates by the Law Offices of William W. Bruzzo (714) 547-4636
Here is an ABC News video from March 10, 2010, which discusses the case.