Criminal Defense | Drunk Driving | Military Law

Thursday, December 10, 2009

California Hit and Run Charge Is Serious

Hit and Run STOP Sign
The holiday season is a good time to talk about hit and run violations. You might wonder why someone would commit a "hit and run". Sometimes the accused party is afraid, not thinking straight, might be uninsured, might be driving under the influence, might be driving without a license, or they might even believe that since no-one witnessed the event...no harm, no foul. In today's world of cell phones, flip video cameras, intersection cameras, security cameras...it is pretty hard not to have your actions captured on film. In California a hit and run charge is serious(Vehicle Code Section 20002(a))and you should always seek legal counsel.

Here is a testimonial from one client who faced a six month jail term. Solutions are possible with good representation.

"I was charged with one count of hit and run (Vehicle Code Section 20002(a)) for causing more then $5,000.00 in damages then allegedly leaving the scene. I could have faced up to 6 months in jail I hired Attorney William Bruzzo to represent me in this case as I was told he is very familiar with the judges, courts and the district attorneys in Orange County. Mr. Bruzzo spoke with the District Attorney but felt he could get a better deal so he turned to the Judge and in the end negotiated a civil compromise (Penal Code Section 1377) whereby the victim was compensated and the case was DISMISSED. I am truly grateful to Mr. Bruzzo for his representation in this matter as it spared me from going to jail and having a conviction on my record. Also, this case could have been filed as a felony yet remained in the misdemeanor court. As such, I would enthusiastically recommend Mr. Bruzzo for any criminal matter."
~~ MH, December 1, 2009

No comments:

Post a Comment