Criminal Defense | Drunk Driving | Military Law

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Understanding of the Domestic Violence California Penal Code

Domestic Violence occurs when one person physically strikes another person without consent and the two people are married, in a dating relationship or otherwise romantically involved. This crime can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. If charged as a misdemeanor the maximum jail time possible is one-year. If charged as a felony the maximum jail time could be as much as 4-years. In these cases it is important that the accused have a basic understanding of the domestic violence California Penal Code Sections 243(e)(1) and 273.5).

Here is a testimonial from one of Mr. Bruzzo's clients:

"I was charged with Penal Code Section 273.5 [Domestic Violence]; a conviction of this crime could have caused me to spend up to 1 year in custody. I hired William W. Bruzzo to represent me in this matter because he is familiar with the Courts, the Judges and the District Attorneys in the County of Orange. My case was considered aggravated because two witnesses observed me punching the victim multiple times. Mr. Bruzzo told me that a conviction for a violent act such as this would have been detrimental to my record and therefore my future. He worked hard to get the charge changed. In the end he had the charge reduced to a Penal Code Section 415 [Disturbing the Peace]. The Domestic Violence Charge was dismissed. I truly believe that without Mr. Bruzzo's familiarity with the Orange County Courts and the law I would not have received such a good result. I would enthusiastically recommend him for any criminal matter." ~ NS 9/28/09

No comments:

Post a Comment